by Lawrence Kohlberg

Heinz Dilemma

social and cultural norms LEARNT

3 Levels -

Preconventional (5-9)

Stage 1. Obedience and Punishment obey rules only to avoid punishment Stage 2. Individualism and Exchange “what’s in it for me” “tit for tat”

Conventional (9-12)

stage 3: interpersonal relationship maintain or win affection and approval stage 4:law and order

Post Conventional (12 - 15)

stage 5: social contract and individual rights stage 6: universal ethical principle

Criticisms -

  1. anglo-centric (not universal)
  2. took only male participants